NaNoWriMo

I’m On the Brink

Of winning NaNoWriMo. Of Thanksgiving vacation. Of finishing my Aura trilogy. DO YOU HAVE ANY IDEA HOW INSANELY ECSTATIC I AM?

Word count: 43,000

Deaths: 9ish

Psychotic breakdowns: 1

I’m at the midpoint of Broken Moon and having a fabulous time with it. This weekend was so good for me. I cleaned my apartment. I’ve done homework. I watched movies. I got good rest. And, most importantly, I had a lovely time writing.

Occasionally things actually work out for me. Go figure.

Anywho, a friend that I thought dropped off the face of the world came back to life (YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE) and I’m a little scared that SHE’S BEATING ME IN NANO AND AM INSANELY JEALOUS and am quite happy for her.

The day after tomorrow marks the beginning of my Thanksgiving break, and although I’m ecstatic and family is coming to visit and I can’t wait to get a ton of writing done, I also have to do some homework and catch up/get ahead on work. Blegh.

EXCERPT, ANYONE?

Natalia came out onto the porch, Andalus attached to her hand, and he put his arms around her waist as they stopped. “Go dance with your daughter,” Natalia told Andalus. “Come on, Aura. Give the old man a thrill.”

I let go of Alice, prepared to walk to my father, but suddenly Andalus was there beside me. I didn’t even have a moment to blink before he’d put his arm around my waist.

“Stand on my shoes,” he said, taking my hand.

“Stand on your…?”

“Come on,” he coaxed. I gingerly stepped on his boots, and he gripped my waist tightly. “Hold on tight.” And he started spinning. Alice had been moving slowly in slow motion compared to this. The world spun, the fire slurred into a streak of light, as my father spun me around and around and around. I let my head loll back, watched the stars spin wildly in the sky.

Zarina turned up the music, and I started to laugh.

When I was on the verge of throwing up, Andalus stopped. He had to hold me up so my knees wouldn’t buckle. “Glad you held on?” he said, grinning at me.

I was gripping his arms to hold myself up, and I had to smile back at him. “Is this what I’ve been missing for eighteen years?”

“That’s not even half.” He kissed my forehead. “I love you very much, Aura.”

I didn’t say anything back, but I knew my face said enough. Maybe I didn’t know if I loved him yet, but I was ready to be his daughter. 

ADIOS!

Leave a Reply

