Books

First Post of 2013: Novel 20

I tried my utmost best to finish my WIP before the clock struck midnight. It didn’t happen, but I stayed up until about eight this morning writing. My eyes felt like sandpaper, and I was so tired I was literally crying. I’ve started and stopped on this novel for about a year. But at long last it was finished.

NASR

It’s not quite the novel I expected it to be, and all three main characters ended up following an arc that I didn’t see coming. I’m not sure if this mock cover fits anymore, and I’m still trying to decide if I’m wowed or disappointed by how it all ended.

But it’s done, and I’m still really fond of my characters and wish I didn’t have to give them up. If I’m sad to leave a novel world behind, that’s generally a sign that I’ll enjoy the story when I come back to read it a month or so later. It was supposed to be about 60,000 words and ended up being around 72,000. But then, that’s normal for me. I always overshoot by at least 10,000.

So there you go. Novel 20! Whoo! *flings confetti*

I hope you all had a wonderful New Year’s Eve and Day, and I wish us all the best of luck with the upcoming year, both in our writing endeavors and everything else in our lives. 😀

Leave a Reply

