life

Where Have I Been?

I haven’t been around for a while. I was super busy getting straight A’s at school! Whoohoo! I’ve become very anal about my schooling in the past two years, and when push comes to shove, school trumps everything else in the world when it comes to importance (short of breathing, ’cause, y’know, that’s important in its own right).

But school is out for the summer. I packed up and moved back into my house with my family, and I stocked up on books that I didn’t get to read all semester, and I cleaned my room, and I have been hardcore reading, writing, and celebrating for the past couple of days.

My sister will be graduating in ten days, which will be fabulous and fun because there are always parties involved in graduations, and there’ll be lots of family coming into town.

I’ve been reading FRAGMENTS, which is the sequel to Dan Wells’ PARTIALS, an amazing book all about biosynthetic human beings and postapocalyptic America. Plus, the books are really fat and thick and they last forever.

I’ve been writing THE HEART KEEPER, a quasi superhero book chock full of conspiracies and power struggles. I started writing it in April of 2012, but I let it languish for months because I had no idea what the heck was supposed to happen. But I’ve figured it out for the most part and have reached the 61k mark, which puts me at roughly two-thirds of the way through. I want to finish it this month.

In other news, I got a creative writing scholarship at school and I might be attending the Clarksville Writers Conference next month. It will be my first conference ever, so I’m hyper excited!

That about sums up what’s happened. I’ll have both more and less time for blogging this summer, because there’s a ton of things going on, but hopefully my posts will interesting enough to tide you through the dry spells.

Leave a Reply

