Books · novels

Thoughts on Publishing

I think we can all agree being a writer is not a way to make big bucks. If you didn’t know this, I’m sorry for bursting your bubble. There’s money to be made, sure, but if you want to be a millionaire I’d suggest becoming a surgeon or anesthesiologist.

Something I’ve been mulling over ever since my writer’s market class this past semester is my motivation to be published. Obviously I’m not in it for the money. While I love writing, I haven’t seriously considered that as my career since I was ten or so. I want to be an editor, and if not that I want to be involved in the horse world somehow, as trainer, instructor, barn manager, exercise rider, etc.

That said, I still want to share my books, if only for my fans far and few between who have faultlessly cheered me on and encouraged me to keep writing bigger and better things. Honestly, I wouldn’t mind if only my family read it. I’d be happy just to have my books lined up on my shelf for myself.

I’m the perfect recipe for self-publishing, right? But I’m a little worried that I might change my mind later on and want to be traditionally published, and then I may have crippled myself.

I’ve been turning pros and cons over in my head for quite some time now. I’m not sure why I’m mentioning this other than just to put some of my thoughts on (figurative) paper. I think part of my problem is that I’m eternally double-minded and timid. Somebody tell me to stop being a wanker and make up my mind! Hahaha.

6 thoughts on “Thoughts on Publishing

  1. I’d tell you to make up your mind, but I’ve been thinking about the same things lately. The more I learn about self-publishing, the more it seems like a good option, but I still feel drawn to the traditional publishing side. I like the freedom that self-publishing offers, but I don’t know if I’d feel like a “real” writer if I went that path. That’s not to say that self-publishers aren’t professional, because obviously there are thousands of awesome self-published books, and I think of *those* people as professionals. I just wouldn’t think of myself as one if I did the same thing.

    I’m not really sure if my thoughts make sense to anyone other than me, as even I question my logic on this topic, but I figured you should know that you’re not the only one weighing the pros and cons on this topic. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Your thoughts make perfect sense. Feeling like a “real writer,” whatever that means, is one of the reasons I’m torn. When I listen completely to the logical side of my brain, I know only I can make myself feel like a real writer, but the other side of me refuses to be logical.

      1. I’m glad someone else understands the illogical-ness. ๐Ÿ˜€

        I think I’m going to try the traditional publishing route some more. If they’re not interested, I can always try self-publishing later. Of course, I have a couple of projects that I’m not sure traditional houses would want, so who knows?

  2. There are writers who started in self-publishing and went on to traditional publishing. One doesn’t preclude the other. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Good point. I think part of my fear of self-publishing is that I’m caving under the hard work that getting traditionally published requires, and that I don’t have total faith in my writing. Then sometimes I’m confident enough that I think I don’t need anyone’s stamp of approval. It all depends on the day! Haha.

      1. I have to tell you that, from my experience, self-publishing isn’t any less work. You need to have just as much faith in your work, because you’re the one who has to market it (arguably in both scenarios). It’s up to you which path you decide to walk, but neither is easy, and both end in the same, vital stamp of approval: the one from the readers. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

