life · NaNoWriMo

Work Study (I’m a Proofer Again!)

I may have mentioned at some point that I got a creative writing scholarship for school. I can’t even tell you how happy that made me, and for a thousand different reasons. somebody thinks my writing isn’t crap. I don’t have to take out another loan. It’s all kinds of good. It’s also a work-study scholarship, which means I get to work in the office of the university’s press.

In short, I’m a proofer again! Yes, I know, some may not find nitpicking over grammar and syntax to be a fun thing, but I’m obsessed. I like the rules, and I like smoothing out awkward wording. I play around with words in my head all day long.

This is my senior year at AP, so I’m glad I got the chance to work with the press. I don’t have a lot of responsibility, of course, but I like running errands, proofing, and organizing. I’m going to make a great editorial assistant. I can feel it in my bones.

I haven’t written on Project X in a thousand years, and to be honest I don’t foresee any serious writing happening until November, which… do I even need to say it? NATIONAL NOVEL WRITING MONTH! BOOYAH! I’m super excited. Sure, I have no idea what I’m going to write, but when have I ever?

One thought on “Work Study (I’m a Proofer Again!)

Leave a Reply

