life · School

I Graduated

This poor blog. I’m willing to give myself a pass for not posting anything in those last two-ish weeks of my college career, but otherwise there isn’t much excuse.

So, I graduated. How about that? On May 9th I received my Bachelor of Arts in English, with a minor in English Writing, with the highest honors. I even received a nifty honors medal to wear in the commencement ceremony.

My mind is still boggled by how much my life has changed in the past two weeks, and I have bouts where I briefly panic and almost tear-up at the thought of not going back to Austin Peay in the fall. No more Creative Writing Club. No more Hispanic Cultural Center. No more five-minute walk to my friends’ dorms to hang out.

It’s time to be a big girl now, about which I am simultaneously resigned and thrilled.

But this is also an exciting time. For starters, I was one of the Outstanding Creative Writing Students. I had a poem and a short story published in APSU’s Red Mud Review. I’m going to a poetry workshop in New Hampshire in July.

And I’m working summer camp again! I missed my horses sooooo much. I’m going to be steeped in horses all summer, but I promised myself I wouldn’t let them take over this blog.

In the meantime, whilst I wait for camp to start, I’m reading RUINS by Dan Wells, EXPOSURE by Kathy Reichs, and hopefully finishing up SCARLET and CRESS by Marissa Meyer. With those books on my shelf, I feel like I’m sitting on a gold mine. 🙂

7 thoughts on “I Graduated

  1. Congratulations on graduating! 🙂 That’s so cool you will be reading Scarlet and Cress. I loved Cinder so much, and I recently finished reading Scarlet and Cress. I didn’t think Scarlet or Cress was as good as Cinder, but I enjoyed Cress quite a bit.

    ~ Kayla

  2. Congratulations on your graduation and being published! 🙂 Those are definitely good reasons to not post for a while. Enjoy your books! I’m trying to read more again as well, especially on those nice sunny days when I can lay out by the pool!

Leave a Reply

