life · writing

New Year, Same Me

2016-01-03 23.56.30.png
My Mantra for the Year

I don’t remember giving up new year’s resolutions. They used to be a big, exciting deal for me, as if this were the only point in the year when I was truly open to change. But just in the past eight months, I’ve taken huge strides towards becoming the person I want to be, so when I look forward unto the dawn… I mean, into 2016, there aren’t a lot of big changes I want to make in my life.

Don’t misunderstand. There are a lot of changes I can still make, changes having to do with my writing practice, my health, my attitude, etc. But at the same time, I’m taking a moment to acknowledge and celebrate that I am on the right road.

I completed my first semester of grad school with a 4.0. I’m halfway through the novel I began in September, the holy grail I’ve been after since I first began writing. I spent an entire summer riding horses – I fully committed my mind, body, and bank account to discovering just how much I really wanted to be an eventer.

This coming year, I plan to continue doing these same things – riding horses, writing novels, and enjoying my successes as I go. Maybe I’ll make an attempt to eat more green vegetables, even if I don’t really want to.

Leave a Reply

